The University of British Columbia

Seeding for 2018 U SPORTS national championship: UBC Okanagan enters draw as the 5-seed

Seeding for 2018 U SPORTS national championship: UBC Okanagan enters draw as the 5-seed

2018 U SPORTS Women's Volleyball Championship
Presented by Hôtel Universel Québec Preview:
Calgary earns No.1 seed ahead of national tournament

TORONTO (U SPORTS) – The Calgary Dinos have been named women's volleyball tournament favourites in the lead-up to an action-packed weekend of #CHAMPSZN and will open the 2018 U SPORTS Women's Volleyball Championship presented by Hôtel Universel Québec as the top seed at the Amphithéâtre Desjardins-Université Laval in Quebec City.


The seeding was announced on Sunday evening for the three-day competition, which kicks off on Friday at Laval University and culminates concludes next Sunday with the gold-medal final at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT. All games will be livestreamed at USPORTS.LIVE. 

Rounding out the seeding behind Canada West champ Calgary are the No. 2 Montreal Carabins (RSEQ champions), No. 3 UBC Thunderbirds (Canada West finalists), No. 4 Ryerson Rams (OUA champs), No. 5 UBC Okanagan Heat (Canada West semifinalists), No. 6 Dalhousie Tigers (AUS champs), No. 7 Aberta Pandas Martlets (Canada West semifinalists) and No. 8 Laval Rouge et Or (hosts/RSEQ finalists).

Friday's quarter-finals include Alberta vs. Montreal in the 10 a.m. PT opener, followed by Dalhousie vs. UBC at 12 p.m. PT, host Laval vs. Calgary at 3 p.m. PT, with the Heat in the final quarter-final at 5 p.m. PT when the square off versus Ryerson.

Thursday, Mar. 15
All-Canadian Awards Gala, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT

Friday, Mar. 16 (Quarter-finals)
No. 2 Montreal vs. No. 7 Alberta 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
No. 3 UBC vs. No. 6 Dalhousie, 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT
No.1 Calgary vs. No. 8 Laval, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
No. 4 Ryerson vs. No. 5 UBC Okanagan, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

Full championship schedule and team-by-team previews are available at

U SPORTS is the national brand for university sports in Canada. Every year, over 12,000 student-athletes and 500 coaches from 56 universities vie for 21 national championships in 12 different sports. U SPORTS also provides higher performance international opportunities for Canadian student-athletes at Winter and Summer Universiades, as well as numerous world university championships. For further information, visit
For further information, please contact:

Mathieu Tanguay
Sports Information
Laval University
Off: (418) 656-2131 Ext. 4165
Cell: (418) 569-9778

Ken Saint-Eloy
Senior Manager,
Marketing & Communications
Cell: 647-871-7595

Alan Hudes
Coordinator, Communications
Off: 905-508-3000 ext. 242
Cell: 647-991-5343


2018 Playoff Schedule
February 19, 2018 2018 Playoff Schedule