The University of British Columbia

Basketball season schedule for Heat women announced

Basketball season schedule for Heat women announced

The UBC Okanagan women's basketball team will begin the upcoming conference season on the road as Canada West announced the basketball schedule for 2018-19.

UBC Okanagan WBB Schedule | Canada West WBB Schedule | Canada West Schedule Release | Ticket Options |

A weekend series in Langley (Oct. 26-27) to play the Trinity Western Spartans will kick off conference play for UBCO.

Basketball on the Okanagan home court will begin in November as the Heat host the Brandon Bobcats for their home-opening weekend. Action tips off at 6 p.m. Friday night (Nov. 2); all weekends are double headers so the same two square off on Saturday night (Nov. 3) as well.

In the first semester there are two other home dates on the schedule giving UBC Okanagan six home dates in 2018. The Heat host Lethbridge (Nov. 9-10) and UFV (Nov. 30-Dec. 1), with the two versus the Cascades closing out the calendar year.

Other than the trip to Langley, life on the road is good for the basketball squad as they only have a weekend in Calgary and a weekend in Kamloops on the slate in 2018.

2019 however, will have UBCO on the road early in January with a rivalry trip to Vancouver to open the term followed by a trip to the Prairies as the final road trip of the conference season. January 4th-5th the Heat will stare down the Thunderbirds at War Memorial and on January 11th-12th, the two-game set will be in Regina facing off against the Cougars.

The season will close out with back-to-back home dates to close out January. Hosting MacEwan (Jan. 18-19) for two before wrapping up against the Victoria Vikes (Jan. 25-26).

Once again all Heat basketball games will be carried live of

Oct 26-27 Trinity Western Langley 1-7
Nov 2-3 Brandon Kelowna 2-3
Nov 9-10 Lethbridge Kelowna 2-2
Nov 16-17 Mount Royal Calgary 9-5
Nov 23-24 Thompson Rivers Kamloops 2-10
Nov 30-Dec 1 UFV Kelowna 2-12
Jan 4-5 UBC Vancouver 0-10
Jan 11-12 Regina Regina 0-5
Jan 18-19 MacEwan Kelowna 1-9
Jan 25-26 Victoria Kelowna 0-8


With 17 teams in the conference, CW plays an unbalanced schedule with 12 teams qualifying for the postseason.

The CW playoffs can be wild with the top four teams receiving a bye to the second round and teams 5-12 play in a one game series to determine who moves on.

A CW champion will be crowned either March 1st or 2nd with the championship game to be played at the highest remaining seed's home court.

The U SPORTS national championship is in Toronto year and will be hosted by Ryerson University March 7-10. 

NOTES: Top 12 teams qualify for the playoffs. The top 12 teams are then ranked 1 to 12 based on each team's RPI standing in order to account for the various strength of schedules faced by each team. RPI will be displayed beginning in mid-December and is updated every Monday following regular season competition. 


WEEK 1: Feb. 8 & 9 (single game):
Teams seeded 1-4 by RPI receive the first week bye

Game 1 - 9 @ 8
Game 2 - 12 @ 5
Game 3 - 11 @ 6  
Game 4 - 10 @ 7

WEEK 2: Feb. 14-17 (best-of-three quarter-finals):

Series A: Highest remaining seed @ 4
Series B: 2nd highest remaining seed @ 3
Series c - 2nd lowest remaining seed @ 2
Series D - Lowest remaining seed @ 1

WEEK 3: Feb. 21-22 (best-of-three semifinals):

Winner of Series A vs. Winner of Series D (at higher seed)
Winner of Series B vs. Winner of Series C (at higher seed)

WEEK 4: March 1 or 2 CW championship

Single elimination championship game at highest remaining seed
Bronze medal game at highest remaining seed, only to be played if needed to determine a third U SPORTS qualifier.

U SPORTS Final 8 - March 7-10 (Ryerson)


2019 Graduation
June 7, 2019 2019 Graduation