The University of British Columbia

RECAP: Men runners race in Kamloops

RECAP: Men runners race in Kamloops

KAMLOOPS, BC— Under the guidance of new cross country coach John Machuga the UBC Okanagan women's cross country team picked up where they left off in 2016 – winning races.


With barely three practices under their belts the Heat women runners took first place in the women's team competition in a small meet hosted by the Thompson Rivers WolfPack in Kamloops on the McArthur Island Golf Course.

The University of British Columbia Okanagan and a number of local high schools competed in a 5 kilometer (women) and 6 kilometer (men) race with 21 women and 26 men competing in the high school and university category.

After wining the national championship last November led by West Kelowna runner and UBC Okanagan female athlete of the year Veronika Fagan it was Fagan again leading the pack at the golf course that was closed down due to all of the spring flooding.

The overall winners were Veronika Fagan of UBCO in the women's division with a time of 18 minutes 34.1 seconds.  15 year old high school runner Ana Arano of Vernon was second only five seconds later (18:39.2).  Thompson Rivers' rookie Kendra Murray (Whitehorse, YK) finished third being clocked at 20:15.9.

Individually the Heat won both races with Michael Mitchell finished as the first man across in a time of 20 minutes 35.9 seconds.  That was 14 seconds faster than WolfPack rookie Troy Morgan (Hythe, AB) (20:49.7).   TRU rookie Josh Ogilvie (Kamloops, BC) was third at 20 minutes 50.6 seconds.

UBCO captured the women's title. TRU won the men's team title by one point over UBCO.

UBCO Men's Results (Scoring five)
Mike Mitchell       1st    20:35.9    -
Dayton Bath        4th    20:59.8    +0:23.9
Owen Harris        5th    21:09.3    +0:33.4
Joel Johnson       8th    21:33.0    +0:57.1
Quinn Middleton  12th  22:23.3    +1:47.4